Narrative and Script Development

In preparation for my upcoming script writing project which I have titled April 14th, I have been studying the scripts of notable writers and their works that I have taken influence from.

For the script I am writing, the biggest influence has come from Michel Gondry’s 2004 film, Eternal Sunshine of a Spotless Mind. I have taken inspiration from the concept of changing things in reality from the subconscious. In my script thus far a character is featured writing his own script and comments upon the events with it. Much like the voice over in this example page.

Another influence from within this page that I have been inspired by is the somewhat ethereal and slightly unnerving descriptions of the characters, in the script below it lists a description of Clementine ‘Clementine doesn’t respond, she continues to eat robotically’. This description is interesting to me because it give a real impression of distance and absence from reality.

I would like to incorporate traits like this into one of the characters in my script, as I believe the absent and mysterious nature of character description like this would play well in a screenplay based upon a man’s self created psychological disillusion.

Screen Shot 2017-04-19 at 11.39.32.png

1. ETERNAL SUNSHINE OF A SPOTLESS MIND PDF (“Eternal Sunshine Of A Spotless Mind PDF”) “Eternal Sunshine Of A Spotless Mind PDF”. https://stephenfollows.com. N.p., 2003. Web. 19 Apr. 2017.

Leave a Reply

