The Golden Ratio/The Fibonacci Sequence

In thinking about the theory behind photography I have bought myself back to one of my earliest lectures in the year with Tony, although brief, the subject was captured my interest.

Quite a complex subject with claims dating back to 400BC in Ancient Greece, the golden ratio is considered to be a structural form of mathematical beauty with the number sequence 0, 1, 1, 2, 3, 5, 8, 13, 21 and 34. This can be applied to composition in photography to create what this theory would claim to be a beautiful image. Myself I am interest in what could be considered to be perfect composition as I believe alternately that beauty in images comes more from expression and timing than any technical point.

Although I did attempt to apply this theory to some of my work early on in the year with my Introductory Skills module, I was unable to do so due to time constraints, as setting up the image with the principle of sections of the image relating to the ratio of the mentioned sequence is quite difficult.

I would like to use this theory in some of my photography work next year, this is one of the practices that I want to attempt now that I may be more experienced.

  1. HOM, E. J. What is the Golden Ratio? (Hom, 2013) Hom, E. (2013). What is the Golden Ratio?. [online] Live Science. Available at: http://www.livescience.com/37704-phi-golden-ratio.html [Accessed 1 May 2017].
Leave a Reply

